The Wakefield Excellence in Business Awards will be judged by the main sponsors who will be joined by the respective category sponsors and guest judges.

Cllr, Darren Byford, Wakefield First

Cllr Darren Byford is a Labour Councillor for Horbury & South Ossett ward with Wakefield District – elected in May 2016. Darren’s background was in Public Sector Procurement working with the UK’s largest Public sector Buying Organisation for 30+ years. Specialising within the Food & FM categories.

Retiring from full-time employment in 2018, Darren works, full-time as a Ward Councillor and as Deputy Portfolio Holder – Regeneration & Economic Growth, supporting the Deputy Leader of Wakefield Council and recently appointed as Wakefield Council’s Climate Change Lead Councillor.

Jon Hughes, MD HARIBO UK and Ireland

Jon Hughes is the Managing Director HARIBO UK & HARIBO Ireland.
Developing talent is a key focus, with Haribo supporting engineering scholarships with Arkwright and running a full apprenticeship scheme. Jon is also a Trustee at Castleford Academy Trust, working with the Board to support excellence for all across the academies five schools.